ACCT 212 Learnsmart Assignment 9 Liberty University Solution
A division reports the following figures: Profit margin = 20%; Investment turnover = 0.5. The division's return on investment is %.
A division reports the following figures: Sales = $14,000; Net income = $2,800; Average assets = $28,000. The division's investment turnover is __.
A department that incurs costs without generating revenues is considered a(n):
Which service department is most likely to use square feet to floor space occupied as the allocation base to assign its costs to operating departments?
A responsibility accounting performance report contains which of the following items?
Match the center on the left with the center's method of evaluation.
A _____ center is evaluated based on control of costs so a performance report is prepared instead of an income statement.
Costs readily traced to a department because they are incurred for that department's sole benefit are called ______ expenses.
A department that incurs costs, generates revenues, and is responsible for effectively using department assets is considered a(n):
Which of the indicators listed would be considered performance measures for the financial perspective?
A departmental contribution to overhead report shows indirect expenses:
Company A has a profit margin of 12% and investment turnover of 3.2. Company B has a profit margin of 15% and investment turnover of 2.4. Company ___ has a better return on investment.
List the sections of a department expense allocation spreadsheet with the first section on top
A good responsibility accounting system makes every effort to provide:
Jane works in the maintenance department, which supports the production department and the research department. Jane's wages are an example of which type expense?
Match each indirect expense to the most likely allocation base.
Division ABC has $750,000 invested in assets and earned $200,000 in income. Division XYZ has $800,000 invested in assets and earned $210,000 in income. The company's target rate is 10%. Which division has the highest residual income?
A manufacturing division has an average of $1,800,000 invested in assets and earned income of $720,000. The division's return on investment is ________%
Consider a manager of a production department of a manufacturing company. Determine if the following costs would be considered controllable by the manger.
Division ABC has $750,000 invested in assets and earned $200,000 in income. Division XYZ has $800,000 invested in assets and earned $210,000 in income. Which of the following statements is true?
Match the four perspectives of the balanced scorecards with questions managers are trying to answer.
A company incurs advertising costs of $10,000. The company's three selling departments have the following sales: Department 1-$10,000; Department 2-$30,000; Department 3-$40,000. Advertising is allocated based on percent of sales. The amount of advertising allocated to Department 3 will be $_______.
List the steps in allocating costs to operating departments and preparing departmental income statements, with the first step on top.
A manufacturing division has $1,800,000 invested in assets and earned income of $720,000. The company's hurdle rate is 8%. The division residual income